A Midsummer Night's Dream (2007)

Cast of "A-Midsummer-Night-s-Dream"

All of us contribute to community activities and fundraisers in one way or another. The main community profile event for the MBA is the MTC production. This year the cast was asked to take on a challenging play – a Midsummer Night’s Dream. Doing Shakespeare is not as easy as they made it seem. Some of the actors had to ramp up the already incredible amount of hours spent memorizing their lines in order to ensure that speaking this archaic English seemed entirely natural. Merci, thank you for your dedication. 

I would also like to thank Steve Schipper for his vision and patience. Productions such as this one are not successful without the support volunteers and MTC staff, including Nick Kowalchuk, Melinda Tallin and Jessica Cranmer. They spent countless hours putting this production on for your entertainment and for a wonderful cause. 

I also wish to recognize our generous sponsors Price Waterhouse Cooper, York the Hotel, Fort Garry Hotel, Delta Winnipeg and the wine sponsor Yellow Tail. My thanks also to our Executive Director, Stacy Nagle and her assistant Jadah Nerman and finally to the audience for its generous support. 

The MBA is proud to be associated with MTC in this annual fundraising event which has now raised well over $500,000. Encore une fois, merci pour votre appui pour le théâtre.

Antoine Hacault
President, Manitoba Bar Association

The Cast

  • Hayley Anderson – Helena
  • Nunziata Ardita – Hermia
  • Gail Asper - Titania
  • Lawrie Cherniack – Philostrate
  • Jessica Cogan - First Fairy
  • Scott Farlinger – Oberon
  • Carolyn Frost – Fairy
  • Danny Gunn – Puck
  • John Harvie - Peter Quince
  • Sean Hicks - Francis Flute/Thisbe
  • Jeff Hirsch - Snug the Joiner/Lion
  • Catherine Kelly – Fairy
  • Robin Kersey - Robin Starveling/Moon
  • Jim McLandress - Tom Snout/Wall
  • Candray Mehkary – Fairy
  • Marika Nerbas – Fairy
  • Nalini Reddy – Hippolyta
  • Brad Regehr – Theseus
  • Steve Scarfone – Demetrius
  • Murray Sinclair - Nick Bottom
  • Lyle Smordin – Egeus
  • Mark Toews – Lysander