12 Angry Jurors (2017)


Photo taken by Randy Zyla Harder

The Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre and the Manitoba Bar Association have worked together for many years to raise funds by showcasing members of the MBA in a community play.  Each year, a cast made up entirely of volunteer lawyers, law students, judges and/or professors take time away from their work and family commitments to perfect their dramatic skills and share their talent in a spectacular show.  This year’s production, Twelve Angry Jurors, was no exception.  It was also the 25th joint production between Royal MTC and the MBA and the first production done in 1990.  We even had one of the original cast members (Jeff Hirsch) from that first co-production.

12 Angry Jurors is Reginald Rose’s Emmy Award winning drama, as adapted by Sherman Sergel, which follows the intense deliberations of a jury who are charged with determining the fate of a young man accused of murdering his father. Issues of discrimination and the personal circumstances of some of the jurors come out during the deliberations. The jury have to make a decision that carries with it the possibility of condemning the young man to death.

On behalf of the Manitoba Bar Association, I would like to thank the cast and crew for their generous contribution of time and effort.  It is their involvement which makes the RMTC/MBA joint production such a success.  To date, the MBA has raised over $1,000,000 for RMTC through the Lawyers Play.  These funds represent the strong support the community provides for these productions.

I would also like to thank the Director, Heidi Malazdrewich, the Executive Producer, Chuck McEwen, the Lawyers Play Committee Members, and the staff of the RMTC for their passion and dedication which are instrumental in making this event such a rewarding and successful partnership.  I would also like to thank the play and reception sponsors.  Finally, I would like to thank all of those who purchased tickets and attended the production, in support of both the MBA and the RMTC.  Thank you.

Brad Regehr

President, Manitoba Bar Association


  • Kalyn Bomback, Juror #10
  • Bill Haight, Juror #11
  • John Harvie, Juror #8
  • Cynthia Hiebert-Simkin, Juror #4
  • Jeff Hirsch, Juror #3
  • Zilla Jones, Juror #1
  • Tony Kavanagh, Juror #9
  • Peter Kingsley, Guard
  • Jody Ostapiw, Juror #12
  • Victoria Perrie, Juror #7
  • Sandi Phillips, Juror #6
  • Steve Scarfone, Juror #2
  • Heather Wadsworth, Juror #5 

Special Guests:

  • Brian Klein, Judge (May 3)
  • Jim McLandress, Judge (May 4 & 5)
  • Gail Asper, Judge (May 6)