Aboriginal Law Section Report 2013-14

The following highlights the CPDs and events held in 2013-2014. Once again, the organizers and participants made this year a successful one.

1. October 18, 2013: Section Executive Meeting

2. December 9, 2013: Environmental Approvals and Crown-Aboriginal Consultation At this joint meeting of the environmental law section, Gord Hannon led a discussion relating to the relationship between consultation processes conducted by the Crown with First Nations, Metis communities and other Aboriginal Communities and environmental assessment and licencing processes under legislation.

The discussion proved fortuitous for the sections, as it served as a primer for discussions with the Manitoba Law Reform Commission in March.

3. MBA Mid-Winter Conference - The Changing Legislative Landscape

Attendees heard from Jeff Harris (Myers Weinberg), Dr. David Milward (UM -Faculty of Law) and Brad Regehr (D'Arcy Deacon), on some of the recent legislative and policy changes (both proposed and confirmed) that affect aboriginal peoples and aboriginal rights, a case law update and a discussion on aboriginal protest, civil disobedience and political movements. Judging from the lively discussion that followed, the presenters were thought-provoking and informative.

4. March 5. 2014: Manitoba's Environmental Assessment and Licensing Regime At this joint meeting with the environmental law section, Catherine Skinner from the Manitoba Law Reform Commission presented the MLRC's Project on Manitoba's Environmental Assessment and Licensing Regime, included the MLRC's discussion paper arising from the Project.

5. Upcoming: CBA National Aboriginal Law Conference and Section Meeting in Iqaluit, NU.

6. Upcoming: Section Planning Meeting: TBD (< June 30, 2014)

The section is also rescheduling its Annual Aboriginal Law Students Reception as a result of a scheduling conflict with a similar reception co-hosted by the larger Winnipeg firms. We hope to hold this event, or an event similar in nature, this Fall.

Respectfully submitted, Allison Fenske, Chair